You can, in fact, go home again

I graduated from college last May. I spent four years away from my hometown, living on my own for the most part. After a summer of searching for a way to delay graduate school, I was accepted by an Americorps program.

In my hometown.

I would be lying if I said that this was my plan: to move back home and live with my parents. My plan was to find a temporary position, potentially still with Americorps, and save up money for grad school. I had elaborate and grandiose dreams of spending a year in New York City or Washington D.C.  Someplace away from the west side of the mitten where I grew up.  However, that did not happen. Instead, I find myself with a job for a year, doing something I think will be enjoyable, making the aforementioned money and living with my parents.

I start my job on Monday. I have a week of training in Grand Rapids, then I apparently get to go camping for more training. I am trying to be optimistic about living in Muskegon again once all my training ends and my job officially begins. After all, I just spent the summer and all of my childhood here. It can’t be that bad, right?

To that end, I have decided to document not only my year with Americorps, but my journey to learn to love my hometown. I will valiantly try to post once a day, potentially with pictures. We’ll see what happens, and how I feel about Muskegon next August.

Leave a Reply

